Asia Menu

Photo Gallery

Central Asia
East Asia
Middle East
South Asia
Southeast Asia
West Asia
Places A to Z

Asia Topics
About Asia
Trip Planner
What to Do
What to See

Countries of Central Asia

Information for visitors to the Central Asian countries of Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. The region known as Central Asia is sometimes also referred to as Middle Asia. It is bordered by the Caspian Sea in the west, China in the east, Afghanistan in the south, and Russia in the North.

Afghanistan Travel Guide
Afghanistan is a landlocked country bordered by Pakistan, Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan. It also has a short border with China. The country has many beautiful mosques and several UNESCO World Heritage Sites, but traveling to Afghanistan is extremely dangerous. Many parts of the country are considered war zones and the Afghan government does not yet have control over the country.

Kazakhstan Travel Guide
Kazakhstan is the largest of the Central Asian countries that were formerly part of the Soviet Union, and it is also the 9th largest country in the world. It is landlocked,d and bordered by Russian, China, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan.

Kyrgyzstan Travel Guide
Kyrgyzstan is a mountainous, land-locked country bordered by Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and China. The official name of Kyrgyzstan is the "Kyrgyz Republic" and its largest city is Bishkek.

Tajikistan Travel Guide
The Repubic of Tajikistan is a landlocked, mountainous country bordered by Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgystan, and China. The capital of Tajikistan and its largest city is Dushanbe.

Turkmenistan Travel Guide
Turkmenistan is bordered by Afghanistan, Iran, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, and the Caspian Sea. Turkmenistan is also known as Turkmenia. Its capital city and largest city is Ashgabat.

Uzbekistan Travel Guide
The Republic of Uzbekistan is considered a doubly land-locked country because not only is it landlocked, it is surrounded by the landlocked countries of Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan. Uzbekistan also shares a border with Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan, two countries on the Caspian Sea.

More About Central Asia

See also
Central Asia Guide
Other Regions in Asia
Asia Travel Guide

Asia Destinations: Afghanistan | Armenia | Azerbaijan | Bahrain | Bangladesh | Bhutan | British Indian Ocean Territory | Brunei | Cambodia | China | Christmas Island | Cocos Islands (Keeling Islands) | Cyprus | Georgia | Hong Kong | India | Indonesia | Iran | Iraq | Israel | Japan | Jordan | Kazakhstan | Korea | Kuwait | Kyrgyzstan | Laos | Lebanon | Macau | Malaysia | Maldives | Mongolia | Myanmar (Burma) | Nepal | North Korea | Oman | Pakistan | Palestine | Philippines | Qatar | Saudi Arabia | Singapore | South Korea | Sri Lanka | Syria | Taiwan | Tajikistan | Thailand | Tibet | Timor-Leste | Turkmenistan | United Arab Emirates | Uzbekistan | Vietnam | Yemen |
SkateLog Forum
Scuba Doll
Hawaiian Music
Ask About Sports
Web Site Editor
Kathie Fry Dot Com
Pictures of Kathie
Venice Beach Skating
U.S. States
Arizona for Visitors
California for Visitors
Hawaii for Visitors
Nevada for Visitors
New Mexico for Visitors
U.S. Cities
Los Angeles for Visitors
Miami for Visitors
Do It In Long Beach
Continental Travel
Do It In Africa
Do It In Asia
Do It In Europe
Do It In Oceania
Do It In The Americas
More World Travel
Travel Guides International
Vietnam for Visitors
Do It In Thailand